Krystal’s Hair Story

Today’s feature is our very close friend Krystal. She’s always rocking her hair in different ways and since we love her style so much we asked her to share her hair story with us. Meet Krystal:

Krystals hair story

When did you decide to go natural and why?

I decided to go natural in the winter of 2008. I had been in Milwaukee, WI working on a Co-Op for six months and it was a great period of growth and enlightening for me, however it was not so beneficial for my hair. Through terrible stylists, the harsh climate, and general mistreatment, my hair had broken off like it never had before. It was thin and brittle. I decide it was time to make a change.

Krystals hair story 2

Describe your hair.  

My hair is very DRY! It has a tight curl pattern and is very frizzy. It has a mixed curl formation that is usually never the same.

Krystals hair story 3What’s your hair routine?  

I don’t have a hair routine. I wash my hair when I feel like it has a lot of product build up and that usually is about every other week.  I may co-wash during the off week if I need to do a certain style that requires my hair to be completely wet. My favorite products are Mizani supreme oil, coconut oil and Shea Moisture curling soufflé. I do a lot of moisturizing treatments because my hair gets really dry. One of the ones that works the best is a DIY concoction of apple cider vinegar, tea tree oil, avocado, and honey.

Krystals hair story 4Do you have any hair goals?

My hair goal is to have healthy that can withstand hazardous weather and constant style change.

Krystals hair story 5

What is the greatest lesson that you have learned through your natural journey?

The greatest lesson I have learned is to not take my hair too seriously.  Its just hair after all, it will grow back. Be bold, daring even and experiment with new styles and techniques. I am not one to say oh I would never do this or that to my hair. I always hear “Oh I will never color my hair again,” or “I will never put heat on my hair” and of course “I would never put weave in my hair”. To me my hair is extension of my self-expression just like the way I dress and its forever changing and evolving. Hair that is always the same is very dull and boring to me. If your hair grows to great lengths but you can only wear it in a protective bun for half the year where is the fun in that?

Krystals hair story 6

You are always rocking and trying new styles. Where do you find inspiration?

YouTube, blogs, girls on the metro, at happy hours, pretty much anywhere! If I see someone with a hairstyle I like I take a mental snap shot and try it when I get some free time. One of my favorite YouTube channels is MissVaughnTV.

Krystals hair story 7 

Some new naturals may be slightly intimidated about rocking and trying new styles. What’s your advice to them?

Go for it try it out! If it looks stupid you can always shoot for the go to puff. If you don’t experiment you won’t know what works best for you and your hair.

How can people contact you?

Kd1walton@gmail.com

Thanks for sharing your story with us love!

Leave a Reply

