The Sibling Spotlight: Meet the Reids

We’re back with another Sibling Spotlight feature, this time we’ve got twins! The bond shared between siblings is of the utmost importance to us. We absolutely adore this connection! We highlight the importance of establishing a healthy relationship with your sibling through featuring siblings that have great relationships.

Next up meet the twins:

Dustin & Justin!

Sibling Spotlight Reid

Introduce yourselves (Tell us a little bit about yourselves):

Dustin: My name is Dustin Reid. I am a 26 year old Sagittarius who loves sports, spending time with my family, and being around my gorgeous girlfriend Gina and her beautiful daughter Kallyn (1 year old). I currently work for Bank of America where I have been employed for 5 years. I graduated Cum Lade from North Carolina A&T State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Management in December of 2009. Prior to that I graduated from Grimsley High School in 2005. I have 3 god children, two boys and one girl, who I love like they are my own: Dre (5 years old), Jordan (5 years old) and D’ziyah (2 years old). In my spare time I enjoy traveling, playing basketball, playing poker, and playing fantasy football. I have 3 siblings, brother Demitri (33 years old), twin brother Justin (26 years old), and sister Miresha (21 years old). My goal in life is to eventually become a private masseuse as well as a sports agent for the NFL or NBA.

Justin: Allow me to (Re)Introduce myself…my name is Justin Derrick Reid aka justMbrace! LOL, I can’t help but think of HOV aka Jay-Z anytime someone asks me to introduce myself. Nonetheless, I’m a 26 year-old fun loving caramel skinned African-American male born and raised in the South! Greensboro, North Carolina to be exact! I graduated from the illustrious North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University on December 14, 2009 obtaining my bachelors degree so yes I am educated! AGGIE PRIDE!!! Some fun facts about me, I have a passion for great music, particularly R&B, Hip Hop, and Gospel, but I’m definitely not opposed to listening to other genres of music as long as I can bob my head to it. I have a twin by the name of Dustin Eric Reid (yes our names match, corny I know, but we had no control lol). I aspire to become an international runway model because in addition to my passion for music I have a passion for modeling and traveling. I would love to be able to travel all over the world, meet different designers, and be presented with the opportunity to model their work.

Sibling Spotlight Reid 2

Describe your relationship with your brother:

Dustin: I have much love for all of my siblings. I would do any and everything for either one of them. The bond that I have with my twin brother Justin is unexplainable. We have been side by side even before the world had the chance to see us. The love I have for him is greater than anything you could imagine. He has always been an inspiration to me. We are able to depend on each other for everything. We have shared cars, girls, apartments, laughs, fights, you name it we have shared it. People always ask me how it feels to be a twin, and I always respond and say that I don’t know how it feels to not be a twin so to me being a twin is all I know. I wouldn’t change it for anything. It’s like having another “you” walking around in a sense but not so much because although we look alike we have two totally different personalities. Justin has always been the more outgoing type while I am more reserved until I get to know you.

Justin: How can I best describe my relationship with my brother?? I would have to say he’s someone I know I can rock with for the rest of my life. I know a lot of siblings who don’t have as great a relationship as me and Dustin do so I don’t take it for granted at all. I thank God because with us being twins he’s blessed me with a friend for life no matter how many friends I may or may not lose throughout the rest of my life. We give each other the real deal on how we feel about any situation regardless of how the other may feel. We argue, we laugh, we talk, and we have each others back at the end of every day!

Sibling Spotlight Reid 3

We hate to sound cliché but can you guys feel each other pain like on a twin wavelength?

Dustin: People ask us this all the time and the answer is NO lol. Although I love my brother to death I would not want to be able to feel his pain and I’m sure he wouldn’t want to feel mine. Dealing with your own pain is enough to try and handle. That would be crazy if we could though lol.

Justin: We always get asked this question…LOL…and the answer is always NO! Every time someone asks us that it makes me feel as though we are not really twins because so many people feel we should feel each other pain. I think the only way I would be able to feel Dustin’s pain is if we were Siamese twins, and being that we are not, I will probably never be able to feel it. LOL!

Sibling Spotlight Reid 4

Something that you love about your relationship with your sibling and something that you could work on (Strengths and Weaknesses):

Dustin: One thing that I love about my relationship with Justin is that we can always depend on each other no matter what. Whenever I am in need I know that he is the first person that I can call and the same goes for him. I can’t think of any weaknesses in our relationship.

Justin: Though we may not speak to each other on a daily basis, every time we link up we are easily able to pick up where we left off and it’s as if we never missed a beat. Out of everyone in my family I know I can trust Dustin with anything and also trust him to tell me the truth about anything we go through in life. Although we have our days where we don’t get along with each other I know our love for each other is something that can never be taken away from us no matter what and for those strengths I’m very thankful. One more important thing that I love about my relationship with my brother is that we both graduated from A&T at the same time and it was the weekend of our 22nd birthday! That’s very special to me because how many siblings do you know who’ve been blessed with the opportunity of celebrating a birthday and graduation from college together at the same time?!?!  I can honestly say that I can’t think of any weaknesses in our relationship. The only one would be that he needs to get more serious about the gym like I am so we he can slim down and look as good as me so we can take this modeling industry by storm TOGETHER as twins! LOL

Sibling Spotlight Reid 5

Through the years: (Was there a twin complex?) (Any funny stories?) (Who’s the younger twin and who’s the older one?)

Dustin: Lol we have never experienced a twin complex but there are some times when we will be thinking the same thing the other is thinking or say something the other was about to say. But I think that happens with a lot of people. When you have been with someone for as long as me and Justin have been with each other it’s hard not to have any funny stories. But I can’t tell you all everything lol. I will say that when we were in my mother’s stomach I use to always bully Justin. I kicked him in his head one time and that is why he has a birthmark on the side of his head. Justin doesn’t like to admit it but I am his older brother. I was born 2 minutes prior to him. He didn’t want to come out lol. My mother said he tried to turn around and go back in.

Justin: The only complex I have with my twin and have always had is that he swears up and down he’s my older brother. I’m sorry but 2 minutes out of the womb before me does not equate to an older brother. That is something he and I will never agree on for the rest of our life and I’m perfectly cool with that because I only have one older brother (33 years-old). That’s my story and I’m sticking to it! LOL! Funny stories??? Wow there are definitely way too many for me to tell them all but one that sticks out in my mind is the fact that to this day when people see me and Dustin out they consistently ask if we are twins. One day without even discussing it someone asked us that and our immediate response was “Nah, we are 2nd cousins.” That person actually believed us until we told them the truth so now every time we get asked that question when we’re together that is our response and we love to see how long it can last before we confirm the unnecessary lol.

Sibling Spotlight Reid 6

Any advice to other siblings on maintaining a healthy relationship:

Dustin: The best advice I can give to people is that no matter what you are going through, family is family. There are going to be numerous times when you have arguments and disagreements. What family doesn’t? But the important thing is to always keep the love and remember that we never know when it will be our time to leave this earth. God could call us home any moment so we must cherish the time that we spend with family because we will regret it once they are called home and we call ourselves still holding a grudge.

Justin: The best advice I can provide is to always remain loyal and truthful to each other no matter what. At the end of the day family is all we have and when you have no one else to run to you know family will always be there. So respect each other and protect each other because if you don’t no one else will. When all else fails just make sure you LAUGH OFTEN with your sibling because that is one thing that me and Dustin enjoy to do together. Who doesn’t love to laugh???

Sibling Spotlight Reid 7

Why is it so important to have a good friendship/relationship with your sibling?

Dustin: Nobody will have your back like your own siblings.

Justin: I would have to agree with Dustin’s answer on this one. Nobody will have your back like your own siblings.

Sibling Spotlight Reid 8

How can people contact you?

Dustin: Via facebook: Dustin Reid or Instagram @doctadoc2

Justin: I can be reached via 3 social networks: Facebook: Justin Reid; Instagram: @justMbrace; Twitter: @justMbrace

I also have my own website at http://justMbrace.com

Sibling Spotlight Reid

Okayyy soooo Justin you’re just gonna have to accept the fact that Dustin is the oldest LOL and who would ever question if you guys are twins?! But we LOVE IT! Guys thanks so much for sharing your story with us!! If you would like to share your sibling story with us feel free to contact us at thegreenevademecum@gmail.com

~XOXO~

The Greene Gals

One thought on “The Sibling Spotlight: Meet the Reids

  1. Awwweeww!!! I almost got emotional! I remember that Grimsley football pic like it was yesterday! Being a twin I def can agree with the bond you all have! I miss you all!! Great spotlight -Faith

Leave a Reply

