Cool Spots: Made In America

I attended the second annual Made in America (MIA) festival in Philadelphia over Labor Day Weekend. The music festival was held in the Benjamin Franklin Parkway right in the heart of the city of brotherly love. The two day festival featured performances from acts like 2 Chainz, Kendrick Lamar, Solange, Emeli Sande, Nine Inch Nails, Calvin Harris, and my personal favorite BEYONCE!! Sidebar:  I’ve had the opportunity to see her twice this summer and she is NOTHING short of AMAZING like seriously her performances are THE BOMB …. anywho!
Made In America

I loved the atmosphere of the festival. There were so many different types of people in attendance. Many attenders dressed in Red, White, and Blue hence the festival being called ‘Made in America’. There were three different stages and each act took a different stage, for instance if Kendrick Lamar performed on Stage A at 3:30 then Miguel would perform on stage B at 4:15. The festival could use better exit systems and flow patterns for the crowd because it got a little crazy …. we almost got caught in a mob of angry people going to see Miguel but besides that I had an AWESOME time.

Made In America 2

Some of my favorite performances included:

Solange – I really enjoyed Solange’s performance, she puts on a great show and it’s something about her that exudes happiness and makes you dance along to her renditions even if you don’t know the words.

The same goes for Kendrick Lamar, he did his set with TDE (Ab-Soul, School Boy Q, and Jay Rock) . I’ve had the opportunity to see him perform twice (once in 2011 and here at MIA) while both times were great … I definitely noticed that he has gained a new level of confidence that DEMANDS the crowds attention. He was just (deep sigh) AMAZING! I’m thinking of going to the Rock the Bells festival here in DC just to see him perform again & because it’s around my b-day.

Of course BEYONCE … she did her THING but that’s to be expected she always puts on an awesome show!! She’s AMAZE BALLS!!

Made In America 3

My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves and all of the performers did an amazing job. We paid $160 for a two day festival, which is AWESOME in my opinion. We got to see so many artists and be exposed to artists that I’m not so familiar with. But the most fun part was vibing with the different people there, it was a GREAT GREAT EXPERIENCE and I would so go again. My only regret was not purchasing the tickets earlier (in April or May there was an early bird special and tickets were around $100 for BOTH days) if I attend MIA again I will DEF take advantage of the special.

Made In America 4

Tips on attending:
1) Bring a blanket, you’re in the park ALL DAY even if you are an explorer there will come a time when you want to sit down and chill LOL
2) Find a place to stay in Philadelphia, New Jersey isn’t too far but those tolls going back and forth can get rather pricey!
3) Get your tickets early so that you get the best deal!
Made In America 6
Who knows who will be apart of the 2014 line up but one thing is for sure Made In America will be an event that you don’t want to miss!
Did you attend MIA? How was your experience?
~XOXO~
Vee
Met fellow blogger Shayla! Hey InspirationIsEveryWear!
Made In America 7
4 thoughts on “Cool Spots: Made In America

  1. Was watching videos of Solange’s live performances yesterday on youtube!
    She is so good on stage and I’d really love to see her live one day!
    Lovely photos, great post!
    x

Leave a Reply

