Ekene’s Hair Story

Today’s feature is Ekene! We love her blog and her fab hair. We’re featured on her blog and had to feature her on ours! Meet Ekene:

Tell Us a little about yourself:

Heyyy. This is Ekene! I’m a Nigerian girl studying to be a lawyer (almost there!). I love red lippie and I’m passionate about women’s rights! #girlpower #feminista #whoruntheworld? Girls!

When did you decide to go natural and why?

I can’t remember when exactly but I decided to go natural two times. The first time, I was relaxer free for four months but I really didn’t know what to do with my new growth so I got a relaxer. The second time was 2011. I got my last relaxer sometime in September 2011 and I told myself it would be my last.

For my six years at boarding school, I had to wear my hair short. Growing it out after uni made me start asking questions. I’d thought Africans couldn’t grow long hair because of the heat or something lol but going to uni in a country not far from mine (Ghana) really made me re-think. Many girls there have nice long(er) relaxed hair, so I started asking questions and I started being healthy hair conscious and googling about it- and I was so amazed by the information available and all the gorgeous kinks & styling options! Somewhere in the middle of all that, my quest for healthy hair became a journey for healthy natural hair.

I big chopped on May 30, 2012 and I faltered a little bit, but I’m here now, happily natural! ^_^

    Describe your hair. 

My hair is a really kinky teeny weeny afro, or as I like to say- the coiliest of coilies. I think we call this Type 4C hair. My hair is very full, but my individual strands are very thin. I wear it in its shrunken state all the time, I’m completely comfortable with my Shrinkage.

    What’s your hair routine? 

My hair routine is pretty basic. When my hair is out, I moisturize with a leave-in, seal and detangle every day. (I feel I should do this less often but my coils always manage to get entangled.)

I co-wash twice a week with a cone free conditioner. I often pre-poo first (my hair gets stripped SO easily)

And once every 4-6 weeks, I have Washday. On Washday, I like to try different new things but the order is basically- pre-poo, cleanse, deep condition, condition, moisturise and seal.

Since I learned that my hair is super duper low-porosity hair, I’ve been washing/rinsing my hair with warm water instead of cold water. For us low-po girls, a little heat is much welcome.

I didn’t name any products because I’m still doing a lot of trial and error, and I’ve only been natural for a year, so I really cannot vouch for any product. Some are decent, but nothing I’m madly in love with and cannot do without.

    Do you have any hair goals?

Yes! I want to be a water and shea butter girl. LOL. What I mean is, I don’t want to have to depend on products ALL the time for moisture. My hair is SO dry, I need all the assistance I can get. I love these creamy lotions but I’d like to get to the point where I don’t need them at all or this much. I hope this is a realistic goal.

I want longer hair too lol doesn’t everyone?

    What is the greatest lesson that you have learned through your natural journey?

Being natural has been (in different ways) a lesson in patience, consistency, and self acceptance. I’m still a work in progress but I’ve become better at these three things since I went natural.

Having my fro feels more like me, my soul, my personality- than anything else and I love it.

        Some new naturals may be slightly intimidated about rocking and trying new styles. What’s your advice to them?

I haven’t done a lot with my hair so far, mostly because I’m lazy. But my advice to anyone who wants to try new styles- don’t worry about it, you are beautiful. And Life is too short. Do it!

BUT I still love to stalk blogs & vlogs of naturalistas that are styling mavens. I haven’t gone deep deep into it, but these girls inspire me to want to get stylin’ – FusionOfCultures (youtube), CurlyChronicles (also youtube) and Bella Joya of www.rootsdontlie.blogspot.com. Just discovered Jouelzy. She’s nice as well!! (youtube)

How can people contact you?

I blog about my hair journey (and food and literature and other things I love) at http://www.thekinkandi.wordpress.com.

For anything hair or blog related, you could email me- thekinkandi@gmail.com.

Thank you for the feature!

Thank you for sharing your hair story with us love!

~XOXO~

The Greene Gals

6 thoughts on “Ekene’s Hair Story

  1. Pingback: My Beautiful Hair | The Naija-Brit

  2. Pingback: A Talk with Sharon about her Natural Hair | L.A.D.Y.R.A.H.

  3. Pingback: Ekene’s Hair Story « AFRIKAN BUTTERFLY

  4. Congratulations on your feature! I too am a “Lo-Po”; and thanks to your blog, I was able to ascertain the process. You are truly an inspiration and the best to you and your studies.

Leave a Reply

