Crystal’s Hair Story

Today’s feature is no stranger to the blog, its our good friend Crystal! You may remember her from the DIY Hair Concoctions and the New Updo Protective Style posts. Since she has FAB hair and is always down for experimenting with a new hair style. We had to get the deets on her beautiful tresses!

   When did you decide to go natural and why?

In 2008. I didn’t really have a reason to go natural. I was talking with a friend who was considering it and she said “out of our friends, if anybody would do it with me it would be you”. With my I’ll try anything once attitude I decided to go on the natural hair journey with her and I haven’t looked back.

Top Oct. ’07;

Bottom: Mar. ’08

Describe your hair.

This is kind of hard because I have several textures and I don’t have a very defined natural curl pattern. I define my hair by how much it shrinks. The front left side has the least amount of shrinkage and is the loosest texture that I have. The front right side is tighter and has the most shrinkage (because of this it’s hard for me to wear a fro because it’s always lopsided…lol). The middle and back are a little tighter than the left side but not as tight as the right side AND then there is this short patch that just refuses to grow at the same rate as the rest of my hair. My hair isn’t ever really unruly but it definitely has a mind of it’s own!

Top Feb. ‘10

Bottom : Nov. ‘11

Can you share with us your BC experience? How did you feel? Did you regret it? What did you learn about your hair and yourself through this process? 

I got my last relaxer in June/July 2008 and BC’d in October 2008. Originally I had planned to transition for longer but I got tired of dealing with two textures. So after 3 months I decided it was “time”. I watched a lot of BCs on YouTube and saw some people crying and regretting it immediately after they did it which was little disheartening but once I made the decision to do it I was ready.

I was a little anxious because I had never really had short hair. I was fully prepared to cry or have some “OMG all my hair is gone” moment…but none of that happened! (Ok, wait…I did tear up a little when she made the first cut, I had an OMG am I really doing this moment.)

My stylist cut it and when I looked in the mirror, I had two reactions: 1)I look just like my mama and 2)OMG…I LOVE IT!!! I don’t regret my big chop at all…sometimes I think about BC’ing again! I know it’s a little cliché but the process taught me that I am not my hair!

BC Day!!!

Top Oct. ’08;

crys 3BC(1)

Bottom: Nov. ’08

   

What’s your hair routine? & Do you have any hair goals?

I only shampoo my hair when I feel like there is a lot of product build up and I use Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo or Shea Moisture Organic Coconut & Hibiscus Curl and Shine Shampoo. Otherwise, I start with conditioning…whether it’s a deep conditioner or a co-wash. Depending on what I have going on, I’ll oil my scalp and deep condition over night. If I need to co-wash, I use Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner. For my deep conditioner, I use a concoction that I came up with (check out the DIY Hair Concoctions Blog) or Shea Moisture Organic Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque. After detangling, I oil my scalp with castor oil and put a little coconut oil on my hair. 2 strand twists have become my best friend! When I have time to do them, I’ll wear them for 2 weeks and then a twist out for a week. I use my whipped Shea Butter or Oyin Handmade Whipped Pudding and Shine and Define or the Burnt Sugar Pomade to do my twists. When I don’t feel like twisting, my hair is usually in a chucky twist out, a puff, flexis (my new fav) or 2 flat twists (a style inspired by you lovely ladies)! Except for when rockin a flexi rod set, I typically spritz my hair everyday or every other day with a mixture of water, castor oil, olive oil, peppermint oil and vegetable glycerin or Rosewater, detangle if necessary, apply moisturizer (usually Oyin Handmade Hair Dew) and style. My goals are to keep my hair healthy and happy!!!

  

 

What is the greatest lesson that you have learned through your natural journey?

  • PATIENCE! PATIENCE! PATIENCE!
  • Not to try to trim my own hair…that was a disaster!!!!!
  • Creativity
  • Not to worry about the length of my hair but the health of my hair
  • And here’s the cliché’ again *in my best India.Arie voice* I am not my hair! But it’s so TRUE for me!

Feb. ’10

Oct ’11

 Nov. ’11

You are always rocking and trying new styles. Where do you find inspiration?

I usually find styles on the internet…YouTube, Instagram, Facebook, or blogs. Sometimes I’ll go to my sister and say I saw somebody and their hair looked like this…you think you can do this and she’ll work it out. Sometimes she’ll say…I saw this hairstyle…let me try it on you. There have been several times that I’ve told her what I was thinking in my head and her response was are you sure this is what you want and when she’s done it doesn’t look anything like I envisioned and we have to go back to the drawing board. She’s really patient with me and my hair and I appreciate her! I think she likes to experiment with it just as much as I do J…I wish she lived closer!!!

My FAV! The Fro-Hawk

Top Left: Oct. ’09; Top Right: Sept. ’09;

Bottom Left: July ’10; Bottom Right: Nov. ’11

 

 

Any upcoming events or anything else you would like to add:

I’m thinking about checking out The Naturalista Hair Show in Silver Spring, MD in July.

My Advice:

  • Have fun and get to know your hair.
  • Everybody’s journey is different, and while the internet is full of great resources, you have to find what works for you.. And everything you see on YouTube isn’t going to work for you…ask me how I know…lol!
  • I always keep a shoestring and some bobby pins handy…I can fix almost any hair problem with these!
  • Talk to your hair…no really…it’ll make a world of difference
  • LOVE your hair (even when it ain’t acting right) and it’ll LOVE you back!

Top: Oct. ’08; Bottom: Mar. ’11

Right: Feb. ‘13

StraightHair

Feb. ‘13

StraighHair2

How can people contact you?

Twitter and Instagram: @DblC213

Thanks for sharing your hair story with us Crystal. Your tresses are beautiful!

~XOXO~

The Greene Gals

6 thoughts on “Crystal’s Hair Story

  1. Good post! I love big chops. I’ve done a few as a barbar and I think the huge change is good for the body and spirit!

    Follow me! @CMediaUSA
    -Gee James

  2. Good post! I love big chops. I’ve done a few as a barber and I think the huge change is good for the body and spirit!

    Follow me! @CMediaUSA
    -Gee James

  3. Pingback: Flat Twist Updo & Summer Challenge Update | TheGreeneVademecum

Leave a Reply

