Unboxing: January’s My Brown Box

YAY!  My Brown Box finally arrived in the mail yesterday!! Now being that we’ve already discussed my product junkie addiction in a previous post, please don’t judge me *Chris Brown voice*. The ‘My Brown Box’ subscription caters to a wide range of products for your hair, skin, body and more.


More specifically the description from the My Brown Box website reads:

“A subscription beauty box for women of color- we select the latest and greatest products from some of the best brands to simplify your decision making process, making it fun, affordable and very convenient! We span categories of makeup, skincare, body care, nail care, hair care and lifestyle goods so that you don’t have to. “

For $20 a month, subscribers receive various products. My Brown Box just launched, therefore January is their first box. In my box I received:

  • The Natural Market: Brown Beauty Delight Vanilla Pound Cake Hair and Body Butter:

Ingredients: Organic Shea Butter, Organic Olive Oil, Organic Coconut Oil, Apricot Oil, Sunflower Oil, Almond Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, Vitamin E Oil, and Fragrance

Two words ….. THE BOMB! I will be purchasing this butter again. It smells great and check out those ingredients! I was very impressed.

  • The Lip Bar: Virgin Cocktail Collection:I received the Brownstone shade.

I must say that I like this lipstick, despite the fact that I do not think darker shades of lipstick compliment me well. The Lip Bar packaging is super cute. I may add this color to my winter routine.

  • Rahua Condition and Shampoo samples:

Package Details: Rainforest Grown, 100% Natural, Organic

I’ve never heard of this brand but I am excited to try it out.

  • Valana Minerals/Sparkle Lip Color Sticks Sample:

I received the plum sample. I haven’t tried it yet but I was surprised to read that it is a vegan lip gloss. That’s pretty cool.



  • Shea Terra Rose Hips Black Soap Deep Port Face Wash and Mask Sample:

Ingredients: Deionized water, Yoruba black soap (cocoa pod ash, plantain peel ash, palm kernel oil, camwood bark), certified organic shea butter 10%, certified organic coconut oil, potassium hydroxide, certified organic rose hips oil, rose hip fruits, aloe ferox, certified organic rooibos tea, kigelli, certified organic marshmallow root, licorice root, citric acid

Another product that I’ve never heard of but I am very excited to try!

 

  • Curls Blissful Lengths Kukuinut Oil Elixir:

Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Ethythexyl Palmitate, Coconut Oil, Kukuinut Oil, Vitis Vinifera Grape Extract, Silk Amino Acids, Shea Butte, Mango Seed Butter, Sweet Almond Oil Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Evening Primrose Oil, Vitamin E, Candelilla Wax, Fragrance

In the past, I’ve seen the ‘Curls’ line at Target and I’ve always been curious to try it. I guess this is my chance. It smells great and I approve of the ingredients. YESSS WINNING!

 

  • Aye Shanti Notebook:

A cute handcrafted pocket notebook!

  • Coupons and a very cute ‘magazine’ like letter with a detailed description of all the different products in this month’s box.

The process to become a subscriber is very similar to the previous unboxing post:

Number 1 – Figure out when the subscription list opens. You can go to the My Brown Box website and request to receive updates about when the subscription list opens. Or follow them on a social network (Instagram, Facebook, Twitter) and they will post information about the next time that the subscription list opens.

Number 2 – Get to a computer before the subscription list opens. It is important to place the subscription in your shopping cart and order the subscription as soon as it becomes available. So if the list opens at 2 PM, you want to be on the website at 2 o’clock on the dot. There is a limited supply so they usually sell out quick. (If I’m not mistaken, the first time the list opened it sold out in 30 minutes)

Number 3 – After you order your subscription and receive the confirmation email, sit back and relax because your  My Brown Box will be arriving at your door shortly. (Shortly meaning the next month that they ship out)

Ultimately, I was thoroughly impressed and very pleased with this box’s content and overall presentation. The Brown Box crew even took the time to write a handwritten note! How sweet and personal is that?!

My only wish/suggestion would be MORE make up products but of course that’s just my personal preference. The first My Brown Box gets a solid A in my book!  I think I will keep this subscription because of the different range of products.

What do you think of January’s My Brown Box?

11 thoughts on “Unboxing: January’s My Brown Box

  1. I really like the box. I got the natural market body butter too. It’s amazing.
    The Lip Bar lipstick is really thick and doesnt have that lipsticky taste to it. I got the Gin-ger & Tonic. It’s a nude shade but I’m surprised how bold it is. I’m not sure if I can pull it off with my brown skin tone. well I *could* but I’d haveto wear skinny jeans and a glitter top and high wedges. I don’t have any of those things.
    I’ve been wanting to use the Curls products on my daughter’s hair because she is almost 2 so she has tons of natural curls. Glad there was a sample in this box!

    I’m so glad I was able to subscribe. Loving it.

    • The month’s box was amazing!! I went to the Lip Bar’s website they have all kinds of great colors to choose from. The packaging was too cute. Glad you’re enjoying your box as much as I’m enjoying mine 🙂

  2. Where can I purchase the Natural Market butter? There is no info on it inside the box and I can’t find it anywhere on the web.

Leave a Reply

